A Novel: 88 Keys

Short synopsis 88 Keys

Lennon’s second book, 88 Keys, begins as a fairy tale one might tell to bribe a child to go to bed. The metaphysical tale is about a young prince who has an unusual form of Synaesthesia (unique phenomena that changes the perception of one’s senses). When the young prince plays the piano, his extraordinary gift allows people to see the colors of the notes which invoke deep emotions. His stepfather wants to exploit his ability to spearhead a revolt to free India from the British rule. The young prince realizes he must leave or India will go up in flames.

Yummy also has Synaesthesia and she is running away from an arranged marriage. Her unique ability manifests itself in sound. When Yummy hears sounds, she tastes them as well. This gift has been passed down in her family and is the secret to their success in the coffee trade. When she hears the crackling of the roasting beans, she can taste when they are at their peak.

As the two make their separate desperate getaways, their paths cross, a bond is formed and together they plan to escape India. A Buddhist monk always seems to appear when all their foes seem ready to close in on them and urges them on their way.

The friends and foes the fugitives meet are reminiscent of a Rudyard Kipling or Edger Rice Boroughs’s characters. This fantasy novel is based upon real history that Lennon twists to convince you that the events possibly could have happened this way.

This book is available at online book retailers.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s